top of page

Chicago OOTW: day 2

Our second day in Chicago we practically spent the whole day in the Art Institute. If this is your first time visiting, like it was mine, I would definitely suggest staying there from opening to close. The museum is just so huge and has so much art of different time periods and styles that I personally wanted to see as much as I possibly could! My family and I decided to eat breakfast beforehand because we knew that once we got to the institute we wouldn't be leaving for a while. I don't have any pictures of the restaurant, but we went to this breakfast place called Yolk. While it was really good and I would go back again, I would suggest splitting with someone because their portions were massive! I got the West Coast Crepes which had avocado, mushrooms, scrambled eggs, and cheddar cheese inside two crepes and I also tried some of my moms Red Velvet French Toast, both were really yummy but again, both my mom and I wish we would have split.

This jumpsuit is also a great transitional piece for those months where it's not necessarily cold, but its definitely starting to get a little cooler. I'd pair it with a cool jacket or cozy oversized cardigan and some cute booties during that confusing season.

I did find amazing places to take pictures at the museum while I was there (no surprise though!). My favorite place that I took picture would be the cute outdoor patio area that we found! There was an ivy covered wall that I was immediately drawn to. The contrast between my denim jumpsuit and the bright green leaves looks absolutely amazing.

They also had this cool silver, leaf-shaped sculpture outside too, which also looked great in pictures. It did help a little that the lighting that day was especially good!

It's almost impossible to go to an art museum and not take cheesy photos in front of the works of art (well, at least if your me), so enjoy these pictures of me in front of a lot of different paintings!

I cannot stress enough how much I recommend spending your entire day there. There is just so much to see, from impressionists to photography to contemporary to sculpture and LOTS more! It was really exhausting but definitely worth it, especially when I saw some works there that I wasn't expecting to see, like some Picasso's and Pollock's. Here are some of my favorite pieces I saw while I was there (note: you can take a camera, just no flash!).

That is all for this post! I'll try to get the rest of my Chicago OOTW up as soon as I can!

bottom of page