top of page

Keeneland Fall '19 OOTD

Fall in Lexington means sweater weather season is approaching, football season is at its peak, but most importantly, Keeneland season is here. Keeneland is a horse race course facility found in Lexington, Kentucky with two horse racing seasons: fall and spring. I personally like Keeneland in the fall better, mostly due to the fact that fall is my favorite season. I love the weather in the fall, especially in the south where the summers are so brutal. It's cool enough to get cozy in a big sweater but its not freezing yet. Fall also means that the holidays are quickly approaching, and as a Halloween and Christmas enthusiast this gets me super pumped! The main reason why fall is my favorite time of the year is all the clothing that you get to wear in the fall. I love the cute and cozy look you can achieve with sweaters, booties, and cool jackets.

Unfortunately, in the south it takes a while for the weather to actually drop to a temperature where it's comfortable to wear fall clothing. This year at Keeneland, it was on the warmer side so I had to be a little more creative when it came to my outfit. My mind is completely in the fall mindset, so I want to dress accordingly. However, on a 70° day, wearing a sweater or anything with sleeves is not ideal. This Anthropologie knit mock neck midi dress (similar: 1, 2, 3) is perfect for this occasion. It's a black knit midi dress so it has all the fall vibes needed on an October day, but it's sleeveless so you won't be too hot while wearing it! My favorite part of this dress are the slits on each side of the dress. It adds a sexy, sophistication to the entire look.

I paired my slouchy, black Steve Madden booties (similar) with my dress to add a witchy aspect to the outfit and my Brixton newsboy cap (not leather but similar color) to really make it look like a fall ensemble. I absolutely love the color of this hat. It's a perfect chestnut brown that just screams fall. It's a perfect add on to make any outfit more interesting. To further accessorize the outfit I added a long, gold Anthropologie necklace (similar: 1, 2, 3) and my gold and grey Free People hoops (similar: 1, 2, 3). This finishes off the outfit perfectly for a day at the races!

That is all for this post, I hope you enjoyed reading and maybe even got some fall and Keeneland outfit inspiration! Keeneland is open until October 26, so there is still time to strut your best fall outfits and pet all the cute horses. Oh, and betting on horses if you're into losing money! Jokes aside, Keeneland is always a great time and one of my favorite parts of living in Lexington. Till next blog post!

bottom of page